返回帖子主頁

French Photographer – Romain Jacquet-Lagreze

你知道香港是法國人於亞洲首選的居住地及工作城市嗎? 現時已經有超過2萬5千名法國人選擇在此落腳。在這座細小的城市,每一天都上映着不同的故事… 

Hi Romain! 多謝你接受我們的訪問。在開始之前,不如你先簡單地作個自我介紹?

 

我是Romain,是一名法國人。十年前,在機緣巧合之下我來到了香港,現在和我的老婆(她是香港人)和小孩在這裏生活。最初我只是在業餘時間攝影,我的正職是網頁設計師。來到香港後,我被這座城市的美麗深深打動,因此拍攝了大量有關香港的照片。2011年起,我亦慢慢將工作重心由網頁設計轉至攝影。我的攝影作品主要是圍繞香港的建築和城市風貌。直至現時,我一共出版了四本作品集,及在世界各地舉辦過不同的展覽,包括在香港、上海、巴黎及荷蘭等地。而我最新的一個展覽是「城市詩意」。

你可以和我們分享一個關於你的趣事嗎?

 

我是藉攝影學習中文。雖然我在香港已經居住了十年之久,但因中文這門語言實在太困難所以我一直逃避去學習,直至「城市詩意」這個系列。多虧「城市詩意」,我終於開始學習中文。

你兒時夢想是什麼?

 

我小時侯十分喜愛動物,或者是一位動物攝影師? 哈哈…其實也不一定要是攝影師,任何與動物有關的工作都可以。

你攝影作品的靈感是從何而來的?

我的創作靈感很多時候都是來自日常生活。我十分喜愛香港這座城市,經常四處探索,拍攝大量的照片。例如我第二部作品「石林獨秀」,我是偶爾間發現有一棟建築物被大樹緊緊纏繞,十分奇特。之後,我嘗試去尋找更多相類似的建築物。慢慢地,照片愈來愈多亦變成新一輯作品的題材。

「我特別選取了有些許褪色但仍能依稀看出字型的大字招牌,象徵着香港文化雖然仍然存在但已慢慢沒落。
在這個系列,相比文字,質地和顏色隱含着更多的意義。」
我知道你有很多展覽都在香港舉行,你最常在香港人口中聽到的一句說話是什麼?

 

把本地特色及文化紀錄下來,對他們來說已經是一件很值得開心的事。我相信大家都認同這些事物(香港的建築、霓虹燈的大字招牌)是十分美麗﹐只是沒有人將它們紀錄下來。每一個人都留意到這些事物正在消失。我想我最常在香港人口中聽到的一句說話是「多謝」、「多謝你這樣做」。

對於你而言,香港和法國/巴黎有什麼共通點和不同的地方? 

 

兩座城市十分不一樣。香港是一個新發展的城市,但巴黎和法國則更有歷史。我發現香港更自然及擁有較少限制。在巴黎,建築上有着很嚴格的限制。例如,你的建築物不可以高於9樓或8樓;建築物的外觀要與周邊建築物的風格一致。雖然這個做法會令整座城市更整齊及美觀,但同時令人覺得城市缺少了一種活力。對我而言,雖然香港不及巴黎般「美觀」,但卻更真實、更有生氣、更美麗。

 

至於共通點,或許是大家都關心政治?法國人是出了名喜歡談政治、辯論政治。

你對香港的第一印象是什麼?

我一開首其實不太喜愛這座城市。我單純是為我當時的女朋友,現在的太太而來。那時候,我們計劃在未來搬到日本居住,香港只是一個中轉站。起初,所有事情在我看來都是十分混亂,我經常迷路。但過了數月後,我開始喜愛上這座城市。在香港,你可以十分輕易地去到郊外行山或到沙灘游泳,一切都十分方便。這是我巴黎和東京都體驗不到的。

The Blue Moment #27, Hong Kong, 2015
你對於在香港的法國人社區有什麼想法?

香港居住着很多法國人。在我看來,他們很多都希望將法國文化帶到香港,例如︰酒、法國藝術。 雖然我不曾正式在法國學習藝術(fine arts),但我仍然是一位法國藝術者,用法國人的藝術思維在香港進行攝影創作。我想我和其他人一樣︰將你認為自己國家最好的東西帶到香港,並希望它們可以在此落地生根。

你在香港和巴黎分別最喜愛的一個地方是什麼?

旺角、太子、油麻地…都是我最喜愛的地方。在這些地點,你經常被不同時代的建築物所包圍,你亦可以輕易地在這些地區穿梭行走。我有很多照片都是在旺角、太子、油麻地拍攝的。

在巴黎,我最喜愛的地方是一個鄰近Bois de Vincennes的湖畔,湖的旁邊還有一個小島你可以去休憩。我是在很後期,26歲左右才發現到這個地方。這個地方可以讓你逃離城市的紛擾,放鬆身心。

你下一步有什麼新計劃嗎?

 

在攝影方面,我正在嘗試將「城市詩意」的創作範圍由文字擴展至具中國文化表代性的圖案,如龍。

 

在今個月(01月),「城市詩意」的作品會在 Blue Lotus Gallery 的 Christmas Medley Exhibition 中展出,展覽日期至月底。如果你想了解更多我的作品,千萬別錯過這個展覽!

Share
TAGS:

最新動向

MARKS & SPENCER太古城中心店以全新面貌登場

[時尚穿搭] 女性工作服裝靈感

港系式:日式遊歷記

關注我們的Instagram

Return to Blog Page

FRENCH PHOTOGRAPHER – ROMAIN JACQUET-LAGREZE

Do you know Hong Kong is the top destination for French people who want to live and work in Asia? With more than 25,000 French living in Hong Kong, there are a lot of interesting stories around the city…

Hi Romain! Thanks for coming today. Before we start the interview, would you mind introducing yourself a bit to our community?  

 

I am Romain, a French born citizen. I went to Hong Kong by chance 10 years ago and I am now living here with my wife who is a Hong Konger and my children. I was a freelancing web designer in the beginning and was just practicing photography for hobbies. After arrived Hong Kong, I found this city so impressive and start taking photos of Hong Kong. Starting from 2011, I shifted my career from a web designer to photographer gradually. In the past 9 years, I have been taking many photos of this city. My focus is on the landscape and architecture of Hong Kong. So far, I have published four books and held many exhibitions in different places, including Hong Kong, Shanghai, Paris and the Netherlands. My latest exhibition is “City Poetry.

Can you tell us one fun fact about yourself?

 

I learn Chinese with photography. I have been living here for almost ten years, but Chinese is so difficult that I always try to avoid learning it, until my latest series. Thanks for “City Poetry”, I am finally learning Chinese.

What was your dream job when you were small?

 

I love animals when I was young. So maybe an animal photographer? haha… Actually anything related to animal would be nice.

Do you have any particular inspiration or muse?

My inspiration comes from everyday lives. As I was fascinated by the city, I love to explore the city. I take a lot of photos around the city and I found my inspiration with the daily photos I have taken. Like my second project “Wild Concrete”, I accidentally saw the three growing on the building and I was inspired by it. Later, I try to find more buildings like this and it eventually developed into a new project.

“I picked some characters that can still be recognized but with a fading color by intention, so as to symbolize Hong Kong culture is fading out gradually.
For this series, the textile and color of the neon light carries much more meanings than just the characters.”
What is the most frequent comment you heard from Hong Kong people who came to visit your exhibitions?

 

People are just happy that I recorded them down. I think all of us recognize those things (architecture, Chinese characters in neon light advertisements) are beautiful, just that no one record them down. Everyone notices that those things are disappearing, so the most frequent comments I heard from Hong Kong people were “thank you”, “thank you for doing this.”

Did you find any similarities or differences between Hong Kong and France?

 

The cities are very different. Hong Kong is a newly developed city while Paris or France is more historical. I found Hong Kong more organic, and with less constraints. While in Paris, there are a lot of constraints on architectures. For example, you cannot build things that taller than 9 floors or 8 floors, and your building must look like the surrounding buildings. It makes the city much more uniform and pretty, but at the same time less lively. For me, Hong Kong is less “pretty” but more beautiful in a way that the city is more authentic and vivid.

 

For similarities, maybe we all care about politics? As you may know, French like to talk and argue about politics.

What is your first impression of Hong Kong?

I didn’t like the city that much at the first place. I came here because of my girlfriend, my wife now. We were both planning to move to Japan, so Hong Kong is like a middle point to stop by. At first, everything’s so messy to me. It is difficult to find the right track to follow. But after staying here for a few months, I started loving it. What made me love it the most is that you can easily go out of the city, like to go hiking or go to the beach, which I cannot find it in Paris and Tokyo.

The Blue Moment #27, Hong Kong, 2015
How do you feel about the French community in Hong Kong?

There are a lot of French in Hong Kong. I see many of them are trying to import French cultures in Hong Kong, like wine and French arts. Although I am not studying arts in France, I am still a French artist and doing photography in Hong Kong with the mindset of a French artist. I think I am doing something similar as what the others do. Taking something you think it’s the best from your country, and try to make it grow here.

What is your favorite place in Hong Kong & France?

Mong Kok, Prince Edward, Yau Ma Tei …those are my favourite places. You are always surrounded by buildings in different eras in those locations. And you can easily walk across the districts. A lot of my photos are taken from these locations.

In Paris, my favourite place is a beautiful lake near Bois de Vincennes. I discovered it pretty late, at around 26 years old. The place is very nice, there’s even an island you can come and visit. For me, it is also a nice place to escape from the city.

What would be your next achievement?

 

In term of photography, I am still working on the City Poetry. And I am expanding the series to not only characters but also some Chinese iconic figures, like dragon.

 

I am doing another exhibition with Blue Lotus Gallery in Christmas Medley Exhibition until the end of January. If you are interested in my artworks, especially the City Poetry series, don’t forget to drop by and have a look!

Share
TAGS:

Latest News

FRENCH PHOTOGRAPHER – ROMAIN JACQUET-LAGREZE

French Christmas: The thirteen desserts

3 Must-visit Christmas Markets in Hong Kong

Follow us on Instagram