返回帖子主頁

可麗餅的魅力-與大廚 Nicolas Boutin 對談

長假期給我們帶來的歡樂和溫暖。La Chandeleur 和農曆新年提醒我們從工作或學業中歇息一下 - 享受與家人分享笑聲和互相祝福的時刻! 這次,我們邀請了獲得米芝蓮一星殊榮的 ÉPURE 大廚 Nicolas Boutin,分享他兒時在法國慶祝 La Chandeleur 的片段。 

Boutin 在法國開始了他的職業生涯,他在著名的米芝蓮餐廳學習基本廚藝,例如 Jardin de l’Opera(米芝蓮2星級),Lameloise(米芝蓮3星級)和Troisgros(米芝蓮3星級)。 這條烹飪之路使 Boutin 主廚得以在法國傳統美食外進行創新。 

Boutin 的烹飪之路引領他到達世界各地,激發了他的冒險精神,將純正,簡單的風格與輕盈,季節性和健康的食材結合起來。

在2013年,Boutin 重回香港開設 ÉPURE。他以世界一流的聲譽、烹飪藝術和對時尚簡約的熱愛,為 ÉPURE 的客人提供了非凡的餐飲體驗。 儘管今年困難重重,ÉPURE 仍舊連續五年獲得了米芝蓮的一星認可。

FrenchGuide: 您如何展開亞洲的廚藝生涯? 您最喜歡香港這個小城市甚麼?

Nicolas Boutin: 在定居香港之前,我周遊歐洲並在海外工作,包括都柏林,波士頓,馬爾代夫和法屬玻里尼西亞。當時我想向法國大廚學習,尤其是位於波爾多米芝蓮兩星級 Le Saint-James 餐廳的 Michel Portos,我非常珍惜和他在一起的時間。他是我的好朋友,啟蒙了我的思維方式,並改進了我的創造力。

在法國和歐洲的學廚之旅完善我的廚藝,後來我晉身 Raffles Group 的酒店行業,以了解更多有關管理的知識,之後便第一次到訪香港並在此定居兩年。然後,我加入了波士頓 Mandarin Oriental 的開幕團隊從事管理工作,使我更深入了解更多管理技能。

我回到香港後,於2013年協助創立 ÉPURE,至今餐廳已有7年的歷史。我喜歡香港,因為我們有自由的創作的空間,而且我們可以專注於自己想要實現的目標。此外,香港是一個方便旅行的城市,並擁有製作各式各樣的美食素材。

恭喜 ÉPURE 再次獲得米芝蓮一星的認可!成為香港米芝蓮一星級優秀餐廳一員,感覺如何?是一個令人興奮的挑戰嗎? 

老實說,由於社會政治環境和新冠肺炎的影響,2019是艱難的一年。我們需要保持成本,同時保持食品的一貫質量。因此,我們已克服重重挑戰,但將來可能會面臨更多。 儘管如此,我們仍然很高興保持水準並被授予米芝蓮一星殊榮。

另一個挑戰在於保持美食的水準及創造力,並在口感、味道和冷熱之間取得平衡。有時製作一款新菜式可能要花上幾個月的時間,然後我們等待食戶的反饋。我的風格是保持現代,簡潔,一至兩種口味,兩至三種質感,並堅持基本原則。有時它起作用,有時卻不能,這全都與經驗有關。我的美食是整個娛樂活動(ludique)的一部分。

現在我們認識了您與香港和 ÉPURE 的故事,所以我們很想了解您是如何與家人在法國慶祝的 La Chandeleur。
對您而言,甚麼是 La Chandeleur ?

對我來說,La Chandeleur 是與家人團聚。 我真的很喜歡祖母以前烤過的Beignet,它很脆並且有很多糖。 我媽媽會做最常見的可麗餅,然後幾天後再加糖或果醬冷吃或翻熱吃。La Chandeleur 是附近每個家庭都會在家裡舉行的慶祝,但並不像聖誕節或新年那樣的大聚會。

談到甜品,這也讓我想起了我小時候的許多回憶。 我最喜歡的甜點之一是由我祖母製作的蘋果La Grimolle。 我的姨姨曾經做過一種名為 La Dacquoise 的甜品,夾有一層榛子杏仁蛋白酥皮,上面撒著濃厚的咖啡奶油和朱古力醬。 我喜歡糕點,而咖啡 Éclair 是我的頭三名最愛。

您最喜歡哪一個? Crêpes (甜可麗餅)或 Galettes (鹹可麗餅)?

兩者我都喜歡。 Crêpes 而言,我喜歡加糖,果醬和 Nutella,而我喜歡galettes complètes - 融合火腿和雞蛋的經典之作。

您會如何在 ÉPURE 創作出具有香港風味的可麗餅?

我想做一個「可麗餅梳乎厘」。 這個想法的靈感來自我以前在 Troisgros 工作的回憶。 他們有甜品、水果和雪葩等的手推車,同時提供 Gateau de crêpes 蛋糕 - 多層且有水果點綴的蛋糕。 我們可把它轉化為「可麗餅梳乎厘」,當我們將蛋糕切成兩半時看起來像是千層蛋糕,也可以品嚐到其美味。 對於香港人來說,我們也可以將栗子配搭在可麗餅中,這可使用從香港找到的優質本地栗子。

您能為我們推薦在 ÉPURE 品嚐一種甜與鹹的招牌菜式嗎?

當然要一試我們的招牌菜 - 塞文山脈洋蔥,每層洋蔥塞滿澳洲黑松露,配上蕎麥薄脆,口感非常。這道菜重建洋蔥的形象以及細脆的口感,講求技術上的精準和細膩。 我推薦的第二道菜是巴黎白蘑菇湯,這是一款受歡迎的菜式,以大量巴黎獨有、國王路易十四最愛的蘑菇熬煮,僅加入少量忌廉,絕不加水,每一口都菌香滿溢。

至於甜品,梳乎厘總是在我們的菜單上,但口味時有改變。 今天的新品是伯爵茶口味。另一甜品 — 70%的朱古力慕斯配上雜莓會讓您驚喜是其中精緻的質地和藝術設計。

通過大廚 Boutin 富有創造力和啟發性的烹飪之旅,我們可以看到他對烹飪創作所持的單純而簡潔的態度。 我們在此要感謝大廚 Boutin 讓我們到訪 ÉPURE 及接受我們的訪問。

在這個以家庭為主題的節日中,讓我們像法國人一樣享受假期、美食、精美的葡萄酒和淡淡的甜味吧!

Share
TAGS:

最新動向

Protected: 來與香港君悅酒店行政西餅總廚 Smita Grosse 會面吧

港系式:日式遊歷記

可麗餅的魅力-與大廚 Nicolas Boutin 對談

關注我們的Instagram

Return to Blog Page

Charm of Crêpe with Chef Nicolas Boutin

Continue with the joy and the warmth that the holiday season brings to us. La Chandeleur and Chinese New Year arrived and reminded us to take a break from work or school – just to share the laughter and blessings in your family! This time, we invited Chef Nicolas Boutin at ÉPUREone of the high-quality restaurants with one MICHELIN star in Hong Kong, to share his memories in France with La Chandeleur. 

Chef Boutin started his career in France, where he learned fundamental skills in notable restaurants such as Jardin de l’Opera (2 MICHELIN stars), Lameloise (3 MICHELIN stars) and Troisgros (3 MICHELIN stars). This culinary journey has shaped Chef Boutin to innovate outside the realms of French cuisine.

Chef Boutin’s impressive culinary career has taken him around the world, inspiring him to draw on his spirit of adventure to combine the use of pure, simple flavours with timeless ingredients that are light, seasonal, and healthy.  

In 2013, Chef Boutin returned to Hong Kong to open ÉPURE. With his world-class credentials, culinary artistry, and love for simplicity, he offers ÉPURE’s guests an extraordinary dining experience. Despite the hardship under this year, ÉPURE won the recognition of one MICHELIN star in the five consecutive years.

FrenchGuide: How did you arrive in Hong Kong? What are your favorite things about this small city, Hong Kong? 

Chef Nicolas Boutin: Before settling in Hong Kong, I travelled around Europe and worked overseas, including Dublin, Boston, Maldives, and French Polynesia. I wanted to learn from people in France, especially Michel Portos in Bordeaux at Le SaintJames who has two stars MICHELIN now, I really appreciated the time with him. He is a good friend of mine and I have learnt how to think outofthe box and improve my creativity process.  

After a culinary journey in France and Europe to refine my cuisine, then I wanted to learn more about management in luxury hotels, so the first experience was with Raffles Group and then I came to Hong Kong for two yearsand that was my first time in AsiaAfter that, I had an opportunity to open the Mandarin Oriental in Boston for an executive role and gain experience in management skills. 

I came back to Hong Kong and we started ÉPURE in 2013so it has been 7 years and more. I like Hong Kong because we have the space to work on whatever we want, and we can focus on our own goals we want to reach. Also, Hong Kong is a convenient city to travel and get the tools for creating cuisine.  

Congratulations to ÉPURE for being one of the high-quality restaurants in Hong Kong and part of thie MICHELIN star Chefs’ clubhow does it feel? Is it an exciting challenge? 

To be honest, the previous year was hard due to the social unrest and the pandemic. We need to maintain the cost, while keeping the consistency in our cuisine. Therefore, management is a challenge that wcame through, but there could be more to face in the future. Still, we are happy to keep the standard and be awarded the MICHELIN star. 

The challenge in keeping the standard in our cuisine is also to strike a balance between creativity, textures and tastes, cold and hot. Sometimes it can take few months for a dish to be created and then we wait for customers’ feedback. My style is to keep it contemporary, clean, 1-2 flavours, 2-3 textures, and stick to the basics. Sometimes it works and sometimes it does not, that is all about experience. My cuisine is part of a whole playful (‘ludique’) experience. 

Since we know more about your story with Hong Kong and ÉPURE. We would love to hear about this joyful and family-friends celebration which is La Chandeleur
What’s La Chandeleur for you? How did you celebrate with your family in France? 

For me, La Chandeleur is a small reunion with familyI really love the beignet that my grandma used to bake. It is crispy and with a lot of sugar. My mom would make the usual crêpesand we would eat them for a few days, warm or cold with sugar or jams. It is a celebration that every family in the neighbourhood would do at home, but it is not a huge gathering like Christmas or New Year.  

Talking about dessert, it also reminds me of a lot of my childhood memories. One of my favourite desserts is ‘La Grimolle,an apple clafoutis made by my grandmother. My aunt used to do La Dacquoise’ which is a dessert with layers of hazelnut-almond meringues, spread with thick coffee buttercream and chocolate ganache. I am fond of pastries and the Coffee Éclair is on my top 3. 

Which is your favourite? Crêpes (sweet crêpes) or Galettes (savoury crêpes)?

Both are fine for me. For crêpes, I like sugar, jam, and Nutella filling, while I like galettes complètes – the classics with ham and eggs.  

If you have to create crêpes with Hong Kong flavour to serve at ÉPUREwhat would it be? 

I would like to do a “Crêpe soufflé”. This idea is inspired by the time I worked in Troisgros. They serve trolleys of desserts, fruits and sorbets etc. and they would do a “Gateau de crêpes” –  a cake with many layers and some fruitsWe can transform it into a “Crêpe soufflé” so that when you cut it into half, the soufflé would look like a Mille-Feuille and you can get savoury taste as well. For Hong Kong people, we can use chestnut along with the crêpe as well, and you can find good local chestnuts in Hong Kong. 

Could you recommend us one sweet and one savoury signature dish to try at ÉPURE?

Our signature dish is the ‘Cévennes onion, black truffle’ with layers of truffle on each leaf of sweet French onionIt needs a technical precision and delicacy to reconstruct this modern yet fragile onion along with fine crispy speltThe second dish that I would recommend is our Paris mushroom soup. A popular one made using plenty of King Louis XIV’s favourite white button mushrooms, with little cream and absolutely no added water, a pronoun of authenticity and modernity. 

For sweet dish, soufflé is always on our menu but with different flavours. Today, our new flavour is earl grey, while the 70% chocolate mousse topped with various berries would surprise you with a delicate texture and artistic design.  

Through his creative and inspiring culinary journey, we could see how Chef Boutin stands with his simple and pure attitude towards his creation of cuisineWe would like to thank Chef Boutin for having us at ÉPURE and made this interview possible. 

In this family-oriented festival, let’s enjoy the holiday like the French do, with good cuisinenice wine and a touch of sweet! 

Share
TAGS:

Latest News

MARKS & SPENCER RELAUNCHES BIGGER, BETTER, FRESHER CITYPLAZA STORE AND EXCLUSIVELY LAUNCH FRENCH FROZEN BRAND, PICARD!

[Fashion] Men’s workwear inspiration

[Fashion] Women’s workwear inspiration

Follow us on Instagram