返回帖子主頁

可麗餅的魅力-與大廚 Guillaume Galliot 對談

二月適逢農曆新年,我們聚集在一起,與我們摯愛的家人分享愛、幸福和團圓的喜悅。 另一邊廂,在法國有一個與親友共度時光的節日-La Chandeleur,亦充滿了溫暖與笑聲! 這次,我們邀請了米芝蓮三星級的香港頂級餐廳之一 Caprice大廚 Guillaume Galliot,分享了他兒時在法國慶祝 La Chandeleur 的片段。

Galliot 廚師在童年時代就在 Loire Valley 發現了自己對烹飪和四出遊歷的熱愛,並在烹飪學校畢業後繼續在著名的 Jardin des Sens 等頂級餐廳工作。 儘管他擅長經典法式料理技巧,但他不斷嘗試在世界各地發現的多種異國風味。

在 Galliot 的廚師職業生涯中,他獲得了在世界各地創造獨特烹飪經驗的機會。 在任職 Caprice 期間,他加入了亞洲最令人嘆為觀止的餐廳之一暨專業廚藝的團隊之一 - 只因被香港多樣的挑戰和多動性所吸引。

今年,Caprice 再次獲得米芝蓮三星級的認可。 大廚 Galliot 透露了 Caprice 成功背後的秘訣:「我們不會在食物質量上妥協,並且會在每道菜的標准上作出大膽創新。」

您如何展開亞洲的廚藝生涯? 您最喜歡香港這個繁華的城市甚麼?

我於2004年到達新加坡,並於2005年一訪了香港。當我初次接觸這個城市時,就被其商業環境所吸引,所以我想在香港工作。 在香港,挑戰是我最喜歡的事情之一,同時香港的便利為我的作品帶來了不同的食材和優質的生活質素。

恭喜 Caprice 再次獲得米芝蓮三星的認可!成為香港米芝蓮三星級優秀餐廳一員,對這個美譽有何壓力?感覺如何?是一個令人興奮的挑戰嗎?

作為米芝蓮三星級餐廳之一,意味著我們不能在食品和服務的質量上妥協。 有些人可能會堅持做同一道菜,但我們在 Caprice 的工作是創造新的食譜並保持水準,因此我認為為食品和服務質量保持最佳創造力是一個非常令人興奮的挑戰。

現在我們認識了您與香港和 Caprice 的故事,所以我們很想了解您是如何與家人在法國慶祝的 La Chandeleur。
對您而言,甚麼是 La Chandeleur ?

於我而言,La Chandeleur 是關於分享、慶祝和對食物的熱愛的節日。 當我還是個孩子的時候,這個節日對我來說非常重要,因為我的祖母很重視這一天。 我們從中午12點到下午5點開始吃可麗餅。 稍作清潔後,我的家人開始預備晚飯,我們晚上8點進餐直到深夜。 其實我們每個星期天晚上聚會在一起吃可麗餅,所以每週對我來說都是 La Chandeleur - 這是一種家庭傳統!

您有試過可麗餅的傳統嗎?(Pièce d’or-傳統是一隻手翻轉可麗餅,而另一隻手拿著一枚法國舊硬幣 Louis d’or)

當然有!我們是一個大家庭,父親的家族總共有7個孩子及19個孫子,我們需排隊進行這個習俗。 如果不成功,我們則要再次排隊,直到成功為止。 有時,家中的小狗會吃掉地板上的可麗餅!

您最喜歡哪一個? Crêpes (甜可麗餅)或 Galettes (鹹可麗餅)?

我更喜歡 galettes,因為晚餐可以吃很多件。 我喜歡用蘑菇和雞蛋製成的 galettes complètes。 您可以品嚐到蛋黃的豐富質感!至於甜的,香蕉和 Nutella 組合總是我的最愛。

您會如何在 Caprice 創作出具有香港風味的可麗餅?

我有兩個想法。 第一個將是用叉燒製作,因為我喜歡它的口感的豐富度,能夠增加可麗餅的味道。 另一個想法是北京烤鴨作餡料,它在可麗餅內原始和幼滑的烤鴨醬汁會給人一種鮮甜又令人流連的味道,再加上鴨皮會給人一種酥脆的口感。 這個創作可以追溯到我曾與米芝蓮三星級餐廳 Jardin des Sens合作的北京烤鴨和鵝肝的 Fusion 菜。

您能為我們推薦在 Caprice 品嚐一種甜與鹹的招牌菜式嗎?

甜品我會選擇 Banana Chocolate Mille-Feuille,它永遠在我的菜單上,因為它是我在 Jardin des Sens 創作的一部分,從那以後一直在我所到之處。 而鹹食,我建議客人可嘗試在餐廳找到的各種頭盤。 以主菜,您不能錯過 Crab Laksa、Land and Sea Tartare 以及更多驚喜。

四季酒店集團的團隊的支持下,我們可以看到 Galliot 大廚如何通過他的創意佳餚和對美食的熱情中閃耀。 在這個擁抱家庭的節日中,讓我們像法國人一樣享受假期吧!

Share
TAGS:

最新動向

Protected: 來與香港君悅酒店行政西餅總廚 Smita Grosse 會面吧

港系式:日式遊歷記

可麗餅的魅力-與大廚 Nicolas Boutin 對談

關注我們的Instagram

Return to Blog Page

Charm of Crêpe with Chef Guillaume Galliot

Here comes February – the month of Chinese New Year. We gather to share love, happiness and reunion with our beloved family. While in France, there is a similar festival to spend time with relatives – smiles and laughter fill the air of the house with La Chandeleur! This time, we invited Chef Guillaume Galliot at Capriceone of the top restaurants with three Michelin stars in Hong Kong, to share his childhood memories in France for the celebration of La Chandeleur. 

Chef Galliot found his passion for cooking and wanderlust during his childhood in the Loire Valley and has gone on to work in such esteemed kitchens as Jardin des Sens after culinary school. Though his expertise lies in classical French technique, he constantly experiments with the myriad flavours that he discovers around the world. 

During his career journey, Chef Galliot received the opportunity to create a unique culinary experience around the world. With his appointment to Caprice, he joined one of the most talented teams in one of the most breathtaking restaurants in Asia – allured by the challenges and dynamics in Hong Kong. 

This year, Caprice won again the recognition of three Michelin starsChef Galliot revealed the secret behind the success of Caprice, “We do not compromise on the quality of food, as well as making creative progress on each dish with its standard.” 

FrenchGuide: How did you arrive in Asia? What are your favorite things about this bustling city, Hong Kong? 

Chef Guillaume GALLIOT: I arrived in Singapore in 2004 and I visited Hong Kong in 2005. When I first met the city, I wanted to work here because of the business environment. Challenges are one of my favorite things in Hong Kong, so as the easiness in reaching different ingredients for my cuisine and the quality of life. 

Caprice with its three Michelin stars for this year again. Congratulations for being one of the best in Hong Kong and part of this very few Michelin 3-star Chefs’ clubany pressure with this beautiful award? How does it feel? Is it an exciting challenge? 

Being one of the three-starred Michelin restaurants means we could not compromise on the quality of food and service. Some may stick to the norm of doing the same dish, but our job at Caprice is to create new recipes and keep the standard, so I would say it is a quite exciting challenge to sustain being creative while aiming at the very best in term of quality in food and service. 

Since we know more about how you arrived in Hong Kong and at Caprice, we would love to hear about this joyful and family-friends celebration which is La Chandeleur
What’s La Chandeleur for you? How did you celebrate with your family in France? 

For me, La Chandeleur is about sharing, celebration and gourmandise (love of food). This festival was extremely important for me when I was a kid, because my grandmother valued a lot on this day. We started to eat crêpes from 12noon to 5pm. After the cleaning, my family started to cook the dinner and we ate at 8pm till mid night. Actually, we gathered every Sunday night to have crêpes together, so every week is La Chandeleur for me – it is a family tradition! 

Have you ever tried the crêpe tradition (Pièce d’or – the tradition is about flipping the crêpe in one hand while the other hand is holding a Louis d’or, an old French coin)?

Yes! As our family is big, 7 kids on my father’s side and 19 grandchildren in total, we need to queue up to flip the crêpe and hold the coin in hand at the same time. If we failed to do so, we need to queue again unless we succeeded. Sometimes, the dogs would eat the fallen crêpes on the floor! 

Which is your favourite? Crêpes (sweet crêpes) or Galettes (savoury crêpes)?

I prefer galettes, because you can eat many for dinner, but not the sweet one. I love galettes complètes with mushroom and eggs. You can taste the richness of the yolk’s egg, that’s delicious! For sweet ones, bananas & Nutella combo is always my favourite. 

If you have to create crêpes with Hong Kong flavour to serve at Caprice, what would it be?

There are 2 ideas in my mind. The first one would be crêpes with Char Siu (barbecued pork), because I love its richness to build up the tastiness of the crêpes. Another thought would be e with the Beijing duck, its original and smooth sauce inside the crêpe will give a sweet yet savoury taste, plus the duck‘s skin will add a crispy texture. Dated back to Jardin des Sens, one of the ancient restaurants I worked at with three Michelin stars, I also created a fusion dish of Beijing duck and foie gras. 

Could you recommend us one sweet and one savoury signature dish to try at Caprice?

For sweet dish, Banana Chocolate Mille-Feuille is always on my menu because it is part of my creation at Jardin des Sens and it’s following me since then. For the savoury dish, I recommend you try the various appetizers that you could find in our house. For main dish, you should miss the Crab Laksa, Land and Sea Tartare and many more surprises in our five-course menu. 

Supported by the team at the Four Seasons Hotel, we could see how Chef Galliot shines with his creative cuisine and his passion in food. In this family-oriented festival, let’s enjoy the holiday like the French do! 

Share
TAGS:

Latest News

MARKS & SPENCER RELAUNCHES BIGGER, BETTER, FRESHER CITYPLAZA STORE AND EXCLUSIVELY LAUNCH FRENCH FROZEN BRAND, PICARD!

[Fashion] Men’s workwear inspiration

[Fashion] Women’s workwear inspiration

Follow us on Instagram